Date Night Log: “Another” Movie Night and a Movie Treat

Date Night Log

Date Night Log:  Saturday, March 15, 2014

Catching Fire and Lunch Lady Peanut Butter Bars

From the beginning of the week on, it appeared that my plans for date night (bowling with 2 L bottles) was going to be subverted for something else.  Let me first preface this by saying:  I teach English and reading (in addition to social studies!) and have for nine years.  And I have not read any of the Hunger Games trilogy.  My husband, who doesn’t usually read fiction (but reads a lot of techie stuff and nonfiction), devoured all three books of the trilogy in less than a two-week span prior to the first movie coming out (on DVD).  So, when the first movie came out, we watched it.  He had already tried to get me to read the books, had in fact left them downloaded on the tablet, reminding me that I needed to read them.  They are on my TBR (to be read) list; they just aren’t at the top.

Dystopian literature bugs me.  It makes me angry.  It makes the the Libra in me who requires justice and balance to rail in horror and disgust.  When I read literature, for fun, dystopian literature is not my first choice.

Catching Fire came out recently.  I was trying to break the string of movie night date nights (although we do have a lot of movies that we have collected over the years that beg watching) and decided that, if we are going to watch a movie for date night, just as we did last week, we are going to make a snack to go with it.

On the meal plan for this week (to be posted Monday), I am making a slow cooker honey garlic chicken recipe that I found on the Six Sisters’ Stuff blog.  And just as I seem to need a time sink, I continued to look at all of the recipes in their recipe index.  I know.  But I consider it meal plan research.  And I did A LOT of research yesterday.  Fifty-one pages worth.

In doing that research, I found the weekly snack to make since we sped through the racks of Chocolate Chip Crunch Cookies.  Lunch Lady Peanut Butter Bars.  And they are just like we used to have in the cafeteria before “everyone” became allergic to peanuts and peanut butter.  And they used ingredients I already had.  Bonus!

Therefore, when I finally dug my head out of the sand and realized that we were going to have ANOTHER movie night date night, I figured this would be a great snack to have.  And they were.

The recipe says that the recipe serves 30, but I cut them into 72 brownie-size bars.  They are very rich, so I think I can probably only eat half of one in a sitting.  I used my half-sheet pan that we had picked up at the restaurant supply store in Baton Rouge.  Pioneer Woman has proclaimed them indispensable in the kitchen, and I have to agree.  With the frosting, it makes a PAN FULL!

A few things to note:  when making these the next time (and there WILL BE a next time), I will melt the cup and a half of peanut butter in the microwave before spreading it on the hot bars.  I think that will make it easier to spread (and result in less tearing of the bars).  Also, I might double or 1 and 1/2 times the frosting.  If you click the link above, you can find the recipe (the Lunch Lady Peanut Butter Bars link) as well as several other recipes to drool over.  Anybody who has several slow cooker recipes and lots of buffalo chicken recipes gets my vote for great recipes.

Here’s how the snack looked:

I also refrigerated these overnight (this is shortly after I put the frosting on so it was still very liquidy) and brought some to my mom who was very excited when I said I was going to make these.  She remembers them from the cafeteria where she used to teach (at the school, not the cafeteria).  To me, they tasted spot-on, but she was concerned about the use of oatmeal; she didn’t remember an oatmeal texture.  I did use quick oats where the recipe called for not quick oats, but they still turned out just fine.

And then came time to watch the movie:

This is a movie that proves that movie night doesn’t work if you haven’t seen the movie before.  Since Josh had read the books, I kept bugging him with “Is he going to live?  Is she going to live?  Who does Katniss end up with?  Why is that going on?”  It was not a relaxing experience for him, to say the least.

But we did enjoy the treats!

Muffin took one with him to bed with a Sun, in an attempt to (bribe him) keep him from interrupting date night.  This recipe is DEFINITELY Muffin Approved!

Muffin Approved

3 thoughts on “Date Night Log: “Another” Movie Night and a Movie Treat

  1. Pingback: Date Night Log: Chill Date Night in Prep for Next Week’s Big Date Night | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

  2. Pingback: Tip Tuesday: Make a Treat to Last the Week (‘Zert) | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

  3. Pingback: Meal Plan Monday: Falling Back on Old Standbys | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

What do you think?

