Meal Plan Monday: Meal Threesomes

Meal Plan MondayNo, I don’t mean in that context.  I mean meals that can carry over 3x into three different kinds of leftovers.

Just to repeat my mantra:  I believe in leftovers.  I believe in stretching leftovers until they scream and then stretching them some more.  Some people are uncomfortable with repeating meals.  For those people, I have this solution.

Make meals that can be adapted in many ways.  I treat multiple meals (Meal Threesomes) to following ways:

  1.  Chili:  I have chili the first night with all the toppings.  I have chili nachos or frito pie the second night.  I have chili dogs the third night.  Chili comes together fast (and doubles or triples easily), freezes well, and is cheap to make.  You can also include veggies in chili that your kinds wouldn’t usually eat.  I tend to make my own chili seasoning.  Some people might include chili mac on night two, but in the LFam household WE HATE CHILI MAC. (shuddering and gagging going on here)

  2.  whole chicken/turkey/turkey breast:  I will be preparing a whole chicken “rotisserie” style in the slow cooker on Sunday.  We will eat it as the main event with rolls and a green veg on Sunday.  Next week, we will either do a casserole or stir fry with chicken as the meat (or even fried rice), and then chicken soup later that week (that I might freeze for advanced use).

  3.  meatloaf:  I like to serve meatloaf for the first day.  Josh loves meatloaf sandwiches for leftovers.  If any remains, meatloaf cubes make a great addition to spaghetti sauce.

And speaking of spaghetti sauce…

  1.  spaghetti sauce:  spaghetti sauce is multiple purpose.  Spaghetti sauce on spaghetti.  Used in place of the red sauce on pizza.  On lasagna.  And Muffin’s new favorite:  spaghetti sauce sandwich (on a hot dog bun with shredded cheddar) when he wanted a meatball sub.  Or spaghetti pie from Money Saving Mom’s website.

I’m sure y’all are here for the main event, though.

Remember that I’m linking up at OrgJunkie’s Menu Plan Monday:

Monday:  Leftover spaghetti, wedge salad (lettuce, tomato, onion, diced cucumber with the seeds removed, minced red pepper, parmesan for Josh, blue cheese for me, croutons, and a raspberry balsamic vinaigrette with raspberry pancake syrup, balsamic vinegar, olive oil, pepper, salt, basil, oregano, and parsley), leftover Cream Cheese and Herb Scones (from the party from Blackberry Pie Murder)

Tuesday:  hot dogs/leftovers/snacky, may make a picnic for the Krewe of Aesclepius parade

Wednesday:  pork sloppy joes; roasted potatoes

Thursday:  breakfast for dinner (hoping to make pork breakfast sausage–or use the remaining roll of breakfast sausage in the freezer)

Friday:  2-ingredient pizza dough pizza

Saturday:  burgers and shakes/sorbet fizzes/floats

Sunday: baked chicken (rotisserie in slow cooker), rolls, and grilled veg

What do you think?

