Date Night Log: A Date Night Duo Recap

Date Night Log

Just because I’ve been out of the blog loop for a week plus doesn’t mean there wasn’t a date night for the past two date nights.

Date Night Log:  Sunday, February 23, 2014

Nintendo Game Playing:  Guilty Party

Collaborative video game playing is a great date night.  I am by no means a gamer.  Let me say that one more time:  I am by no means a gamer.  I am stuck at level 35 on Candy Crush.  I get very bored with video games very quickly.  Figuring out a recipe or a new method of making something will hold my attention for hours, days even.  Writing also holds my interest.  Gaming?  Yawn.

Well, our Wii died.  Sort of.  It stopped reading disks.  My Guilty Party disk had gotten messed up and Josh had gotten me a replacement for Christmas.  And I hadn’t had a chance to play it yet.  Imagine my foot tapping fit when I discovered the Wii was on the fritz just as I was getting ready to plan a We Play Wii date.  Have you tried to buy a Wii lately?  Yeah.  Just don’t try.  They no longer sell the actual Wii.  You have to buy a Wii U.  Steam coming out of my ears on that one.  Growling in the back of my throat.  So, we saved up money and bit the bullet.

And Muffin spent 5 days complaining that he had to keep playing Super Mario Brothers Wii U so that he could save the princess.  If you are a member of my family remembering a certain holiday occasion when his dad and uncle were “saving baby cows…and it’s timed,” yes…that was going through my mind…for five days.  Finally, they saved the princess, and I think he almost cried with joy.

But, back to that Sunday because date night DEFINITELY didn’t happen after the Centaur parade when my eyes felt almost glued shut in exhaustion.

We put Muffin to bed (finally after the marathon of playing the SMB).  We put in the Guilty Party disk.  In the back of my mind, I was worried that this was one of the games that was not backwards compatible via the Wii U.  Success!  It worked!

So, we played a few rounds in collaborative play where we played a brother and sister who were part of a crime-fighting family.  Collaborative play is great in any game because you are working toward a common goal.  Josh is a gamer, so if we play competitively against each other in a video game, I NEVER WIN.  Repeat:  never win.  That gets old fast for someone who is indifferent to video games.

Seriously…my Mii with the tire around it (courtesy of the Balance Board and Wii Fit) is very rarely seen on the screen.  I used to turn on Wii Fit, and it would say something like, “We haven’t seen you for 543 days.”  Wii Fit is great at inspiring guilt.

So collaborative play keeps me into it.  And you have to depend on your partner’s strengths, a very necessary cooperative skill in a marriage.  And, it’s a mystery (and not a bloody one), therefore a cozy one.  And y’all know about my love of cozies.  🙂

While the date got pushed to Sunday, all in all, it was a success.  Any date that doesn’t result in a call to 911 is now considered a success.

Date Night Log:  Saturday, March 1, 2014

Movie Night:  The Killers

Yes, I know.  I was crazy to try to have date night on the evening of the party.  Let me just preface with this:  at this point my foot hurt BAD.  To the point that those words came out of my mouth, bad grammar and all.  I was EXHAUSTED from working on the party all week, cooking all week for the party, from being sick at midweek, and sleeplessness for two nights while worrying about the party.

I was guilty of not planning date night.

There always is the old standby.  Movie Night.  Luckily, while I was working on something in the bedroom (at that point, I was so out of it that I cannot even remember what), Josh selected a movie.  It was actually my originally planned movie for Valentine’s Day night:  The Killers with Ashton Kutcher and Katherine Heigel.  Something light and frothy (albeit with a high body count).  Something we could laugh at and make sarcastic comments about (like the KMART pregnancy test scene).  Not to sound too valley-girlish, but it was like totally perf.  Definitely what I needed after a very stressful, full, busy week.

I love my husband.  He totally gets me.  (Plus, he had experienced the stress of the lead up to the party on Saturday and probably didn’t want anything too stressful.)

We also had a mini-date earlier in the week on the night I frosted the cuppycakes (another movie night with While You Were Sleeping), but Josh had gotten called out in the middle of it.  Rule #whatever of date night:  always remember that on-call weeks need to have very fluid adaptable dates.  But we still got to watch the best scenes, with the “leaning” and “Fluffy” the cat.

How have your date nights gone recently?  Drop me a line below and let me know!

What do you think?

