Chicken Spaghetti: The Most Recent Version

Let me say, I don’t think I’ve ever made chicken spaghetti the same way twice.  I love chicken spaghetti.  It was one of the dishes that I made at home before moving out after getting married to Josh and stored in our little apartment freezer for a meal to eat in the apartment after we moved in.  My students even get excited when chicken spaghetti is served in the cafeteria.

Last Sunday, I boiled three large chicken breasts (seriously, these chickens must have weighed ten pounds at slaughter) in a huge pot.  I was going to divide it evenly between the chicken spaghetti and chicken for tacos.  I evacuated them from the pot and added in a bit over a pound of vermicelli (angel hair pasta) to boil in the broth–a tip I picked up from Pioneer Woman’s show.

Then, I had a light bulb moment.  How about if I left some of the noodles in the pot (I was going to use a slotted spoon to remove them)?  I could add a bit of herbs, some bits of chicken, a few veg, and make a passable chicken noodle soup.

I ended up shredding half a chicken breast into miniscule bits and added it to the soup, one breast added to the chicken spaghetti mixture, and one-and-a-half breasts for tacos.

I finished prepping the chicken spaghetti as follows:

Chicken Spaghetti

1 large chicken breast half, boiled and shredded

1 pound vermicelli (angel hair pasta), cut into two-inch lengths and boiled

1 can cream of mushroom soup

1 can cream of chicken soup

1 pound processed cheese loaf, diced finely

1 bell pepper, diced

1 onion, diced

1 can tomatoes with green chilies, undrained

salt and pepper, to taste

Cajun seasoning

1/4 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese

Combine bell pepper and onion in a microwave-safe bowl.  Microwave two minutes or until veg are softened.  Mix together the following:  pasta, chicken, soups, tomatoes, salt, pepper, onions and peppers, and processed cheese cubes.

Scoop into a 9×13 baking dish.  Sprinkle with Cajun seasoning, as liberally as you please.  Sprinkle with cheese.  Refrigerate until 1 hour before serving (or heat immediately)

An hour before serving, place the dish in a cold oven.  Set oven to 375 degrees and heat until heated through and bubbly.

Enjoy and repeat.

Served with a salad.

Muffin Approved

2 thoughts on “Chicken Spaghetti: The Most Recent Version

  1. Pingback: Chicken Noodle Soup (from Scrap Materials) | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

  2. Pingback: Summary Sunday: LFam’s Exploits This Week | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

What do you think?

