Jambalaya Crawfish Pie Fil-ay Gumbo!

Jambalaya Crawfish Pie Fil-ay Gumbo!

This is what I made for dinner tomorrow (when I work a basketball game at school and the “boys” are left to fend for themselves and Wednesday…and possibly Thursday as well). I posted this recipe originally to Food.com when it was still Recipezaar, but since it’s pretty much my recipe, I’m going to post it here as well.

Jambalaya Mix: It makes a great gift in a jar as well!

1 cup raw long-grain rice

1 tablespoon onion flakes

1 teaspoon dried celery flakes

1 tablespoon green pepper flakes (I know Zatarain’s puts these out, and they can sometimes be found in bulk spice bins)

1 tablespoon parsley flakes

1 bay leaf (I used 3 small ones)

2 teaspoons beef bouillon granules (I used 2 bouillon cubes)

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon black pepper (always use freshly ground)

1/2 teaspoon thyme (I used leaves, not the ground)

1/4-1/2 teaspoon cayenne

3 cups water (low sodium if chicken broth) or 3 cups chicken broth (low sodium if chicken broth)

1 (14 ounce) can petite diced tomatoes (I used tomatoes with chilies and some complained about the spice)

12 ounces cooked smoked sausage, chopped

8 ounces cooked boneless skinless chicken breasts, chopped

Combine through cayenne pepper in a jar or baggy to make as a gift. Attach ingrdients and the following instructions to the gift. (Or, simply make the mix to use at home.).

Place mix, water (or broth), and tomatoes (with juice) and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to simmer. Add sausage and cook 20 minutes or until almost all the liquid is absorbed (It will probably take more, closer to 30 minutes). Add chicken and cook five minutes more. Remove and discard bay leaf.

A single recipe of this serves about 8. I doubled everything except the sausage, so that there would be plenty for this week.

For the printable version of this recipe, please see my recipe page.

I will say this: prepare it in a stock pot or a dutch oven. I used my blue Emeril enameled dutch oven. Also, in this case, I used regular diced tomatoes (Josh couldn’t find the petite diced in the garage, and since that is Angel the demon cat’s new hunting ground, I don’t go in the garage if I can help it).

Muffin Approved

4 thoughts on “Jambalaya Crawfish Pie Fil-ay Gumbo!

  1. Pingback: Meal Plan Monday: A Recipe Tease | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

  2. Pingback: We Plan Wednesday: The December 2015 Meal Plan | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

  3. Pingback: The 25 Days of Holiday Goodies Day 6: Jambalaya Revisited | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

  4. Pingback: Meal Plan Monday: Grill Extra to Use in Other Recipes | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

What do you think?

