Tonight’s dinner: Turkey Burgers, popcorn, pineapple, blackberries, and (for me) Josh tea

I know I’ve been teasing what we were going to eat tonight in another post or two.  Tonight, we had turkey burgers.  I’ve gotten away from the meal plan (which I plan to return to once Josh starts his new job, especially once the school year returns), so this morning at breakfast, we had that dreaded conversation many people have with themselves at around 5 o’clock on the way home from work:  “What are we going to have for dinner?”

If you are blessed enough to live in the Dallas/Louisiana/I don’t know where else region, and you have an Albertson’s nearby, you may have noticed in your circular that they have ground turkey in one pound rolls for 99 cents.  Ninety nine cents a pound for ground meat.  Healthy meat.  If you read over it or are not blessed enough to have received that ad for whatever reason, I will give you a moment to collect yourself and drool.

A few months ago when ground turkey was under $2 a pound (often times $1.69/lb.), Josh and I stocked up.  In many cases, if the meat is seasoned and crumbled (taco meat, sloppy joe meat, spaghetti sauce) or simply seasoned (burgers), we cannot tell the difference.  Coupled with that fact, ground turkey is supposed to be healthier for you.  In addition, I refuse…let me state that again so that people understand me perfectly well…I REFUSE to pay more than $2 a pound for ground meat of any kind (unless I’m having to make tourtierre and did not stock up when Brookshire’s had it on markdown for 88 cents, but that’s another story–with a recipe forthcoming…probably closer to Christmas).

My sister and I had this conversation a few days ago.  She informed me that ground beef is supposed to rise to $5 a pound.  I simply cannot (and several people cannot) afford to pay that cost.  Ground turkey it is.

With that being said, we placed one of the tubes of ground turkey in the fridge this morning and went about our fun day.  I knew I had those two crusts (heels, as I mentioned in the Artisan Bread in Five entry) that were staring me in the face daring me to do something with them.  I crumbled them up.  The before and after are seen below.

Image

Image

I then added 1 1/2 teaspoons Dijon mustard (I seem to be on a Dijon kick lately; after making Man-Pleasing Chicken of Pinterest fame, I can’t seem to get enough of the stuff!  I’ve used it to make a killer red wine vinaigrette, but that recipe is forthcoming), the crumbled bread crumbs, a teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce, 1/4 teaspoon onion powder, 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder, and 1/2 teaspoon of parsley flakes to the not-quite thawed turkey roll.

Image

Image

Once it thawed, I mixed it together and formed it into four patties–big patties.  While Josh was out starting the grill, I realized that with the added liquid, the patties were kinda floppy and probably wouldn’t do so well on the grill, so I stashed them in the freezer for a few minutes (not long enough as we were both to discover).

Image

Josh placed them on the grill (having trouble doing so because of the above-mentioned floppiness and stickiness) and grilled them adding Honey Barbecue Sauce.  He also grilled the wheat buns that we bought recently at the bread thrift store.  (It makes all the difference, believe me.)  Once they were flipped and done, he melted cheese singles on the ones for Rene and him, but I like mine sans cheese.

Image

Image

We also sliced up one of the tomatoes to top the burgers with that was still sun-warm, even a few hours later.  It was beyond delicious–very acidic and firm!

Image

Here is what my plate looked like:

Image

P.S.  I learned one very, VERY important thing:  ground turkey burgers don’t “shrink” on the grill like their counterparts.  I made wide patties that were way too wide for the bun!

Here is Rene enjoying his burger and fruit.

Image

Image

And a shot of Daddy and his boy enjoying grilling and chilling outside:

Image

Cheers and Happy Summer!

P.S. Rene slept in his own bed all night last night!  Here’s to hoping for a repeat!  Daisy, on the other hand, decided to take her humanity one step further and slept human-style in between Josh and me.  Sigh

What do you think?

